Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SMU Archives Finding Aids: S

Script and Score Records, 1934-1989

Formed in 1935 as a co-ed musical comedy production group, Southern Methodist University’s Script and Score club produced yearly musical performances in the late 1930s and early 1940s until the constraints of World War II put a halt to the yearly shows. After the war, Script and Score was not revived for several decades, but in the 1980s Bob Banner, producer of the 1942 performance and visiting SMU professor, worked to reintroduce the old tradition. Two years of preparation led to the 1989 musical comedy production We’re Back. Materials in this collection include correspondence, programs, lyrics sheets, musical scores, scripts, newspaper clippings, SMU News briefings, envelopes and letterhead, and photographs. 

Charles C. Selecman Papers, 1923-1938

This collection holds the papers of Charles C. Selecman, the third president of Southern Methodist University. Selecman, a Methodist minister, served as university president from 1923 to 1938, and the bulk of the material comes from that period. The papers include biographical material on Selecman, essays and speeches, correspondence with SMU faculty members, administrative records, SMU publications, material on Methodist and African American colleges in Texas, and Methodist church-related pamphlets.

Elijah L. Shettles Papers on the Founding of Southern Methodist University

This finding aid describes Methodist minister Elijah Shettles' correspondence and research regarding the founding of SMU. The majority of the material is correspondence, but 3 newspaper articles and minutes from the Board of Trustees meeting in 1910 are also included. 

L. Donald Shields Papers, 1980-1986

This collection contains papers and books from L. Donald Shields, who served as president of Southern Methodist University from 1981-1986. Included are news releases with biographical information on Shields, university reports and statements, copies of speeches he delivered during his tenure at SMU, information on his resignation, and several books on management and school administration. 

Ellis W. Shuler Papers, 1900-1955

Ellis William Shuler (1881-1954) was one of the original 35 members of the Southern Methodist University (SMU) faculty and taught at SMU from 1915 until 1952. He was the first Geology professor and as such, contributed greatly to the development of the Geology department. His papers consist of biographical data, correspondence, professional material, essays, articles, reports, and manuscripts covering the years between 1900 and 1955, with the bulk of materials from 1912 to 1954. Included is the manuscript of "Rocks and Rivers" and correspondence between Shuler and fellow geologists William Morris Davis, Robert Hill, and Richard Field. There is also a large collection of correspondence between British journalist Gilbert Floyd. Additionally, a large amount of the correspondence deals with Shuler’s role as head of the Geology Department at Southern Methodist University and Dean of the Graduate School.

Southwest Review Records, 1923-2015

This collection contains records from the Southwest Review, a literary and artistic journal published at Southern Methodist University in Dallas since 1924. Included are correspondence with contributing authors, drafts of material for the journal, subscription information, promotional mail-outs, and financial records detailing costs for subscribing, advertising, and back issues. The dates for the material in the collection spread fairly evenly from the 1920s through the 1970s.

Using this Guide

Finding aids are inventories that are the primary way to discover collection contents in archival boxes.

  • Browse for materials in the A-Z tabs by collection title or last name.
  • Alternatively, use the search box in the upper right corner to search by name or keyword.

University Archivist

Profile Photo
Joan Gosnell
Contact:
jgosne@smu.edu
(214) 768-2261
Website