Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
All digital resources listed here are by SMU subscription (login required from off-campus).
You will usually be expected to find scholarly articles in academic journals -- specifically, in what are called "refereed" (or "peer reviewed") journals. This means that the articles have been reviewed ("refereed") by experts in the field, and that these experts have judged the articles to be worthy of publication.
In a database such as Historical Abstracts, most of the results you get will be peer-reviewed articles. However, you can be certain of whether or not you are finding refereed articles by selecting "Peer Review" from the list of search refinements that is available on the left sidebar of every results page.
When searching them, look for the option to filter by Spanish language
Historical Abstracts is the first place to go for articles on the history of all areas of the world, except the United States.
MLA International Bibliography
Coverage includes research on literature from all over the world—Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America. rituals, and belief systems form 1963 to present. Note: you can limit search by language.
Provides full-text online access to all journals published by the Johns Hopkins University Press. Interdisciplinary coverage. .
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This is an extensive multidisciplinary database that has the full-text/PDFs of some articles, but only the citations for others. Often you will need to click on the link that says "Check for other options at SMU," which will allow you to determine whether or not SMU has the article that you are seeking in any format.
JSTOR is one way to search the full text of an interdisciplinary selection of journals going back more than a century. All but the last five years available is available for most titles.
Balance basic keyword searches in the library catalog with advanced searches that permit searching by the "subject headings"
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Near comprehensive list of books from libraries worldwide, includes links to request materials through ILL