Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Special Collections and Archives
The Arthur and Elizabeth Schlesinger Library on the History of Women in America
The Arthur and Elizabeth Schlesinger Library on the History of Women in America documents the lives of women of the past and present for the future and furthers the Radcliffe Institute's commitment to women, gender, and society.
Briscoe Center for American History
The Dolph Briscoe Center for American History is a history research center whose archival, artifact, and library collections contain historical treasures documenting key themes in Texas and U.S. history. These treasures echo with stories of the people, places, events, and ideas that have shaped our nation's history.
Iowa Women’s Archives
The Iowa Women’s Archives holds more than 1200 manuscript collections that chronicle the lives and work of Iowa women, their families, and their communities. These personal papers and organizational records date from the nineteenth century to the present. Together with oral histories, they document the activities of Iowa women throughout the state and beyond its borders. The Iowa Women’s Archives is open to the public.
Palczewski, Catherine H. Suffrage Postcard Image Gallery, University of Northern Iowa
This website provides a virtual tour of an archive of suffrage postcards and other related materials gathered by Catherine Palczewski, Professor in the Department of Communication Studies at the University of Northern Iowa. It is meant to provide a resource for scholars researching the visual images associated with the struggle for woman suffrage in both the United States and Great Britain.
Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History & Culture
The Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History and Culture in Duke's Rubenstein Library acquires, preserves and makes available to a large population of researchers published and unpublished materials that reflect the public and private lives of women, past and present.
The Woman's Collection, Texas Woman's University
The Woman's Collection of the Blagg-Huey Library at Texas Woman's University represents one of the largest research collections on the history of American women in the United States.
National Women's History Museum
The National Women's History Museum, is a proposed museum and an American history organization that "researches, collects and exhibits the contributions of women to the social, cultural, economic and political life of our nation in a context of world history."
Women's History, National Park Service
The Women’s History website is produced in concert with NPS partners including the National Conference of State Historic Preservation Officers.
Library of Congress
Women of Protest: Photographs from the Records of the National Woman's Party, Library of Congress
Women of Protest: Photographs from the Records of the National Woman's Party contains photographs documenting the activities of this militant organization in the woman’s suffrage movement. Included are a time line, images of parades and other protest activities and images of women imprisoned for their activities in support of the suffrage movement.
National American Woman Suffrage Association Collection
The National American Woman Suffrage Association (NAWSA) Collection is a library of nearly 800 books and pamphlets documenting the suffrage campaign that were collected between 1890 and 1938 by members of NAWSA and donated to the Rare Books Division of the Library of Congress on November 1, 1938.
Votes for Women The Struggle for Women's Suffrage
These images were selected to meet requests regularly received by the Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Division. They include portraits of women who campaigned for women's rights, particularly voting rights, and suffrage campaign scenes, cartoons, and ephemera. An accompanying women's suffrage timeline features many of the images.
Women's Suffrage in Sheet Music
The sheet music selections included in this digital collection not only present lenses through which to consider conflicting perspectives at play throughout the suffrage movement, but also demonstrate the variety of ways researchers can draw upon historic sheet music to study a particular era, movement, or event.
Pro-Tip-Schedule a Research Consultation
Still having trouble finding the resources you need? Befriend an archivist. Schedule a one-on-one research consultation with an archivist and get the help you need.