Women’s Voices, Women’s Votes: Additional Digital Exhibits

The National Archives commemorates the centennial of the 19th Amendment’s ratification with: Rightfully Hers: American Women and the Vote.

“Votes for Women: A Portrait of Persistence” is part of the Smithsonian American Women’s History Initiative, “Because of Her Story.” The initiative is one of the country’s most ambitious undertakings to research, collect, document display and share the compelling story of women.

Google Arts & Culture exhibit produced by the Smithsonian's National Portrait Gallery
Washington, United States

The Ann Lewis Women's Suffrage Collection is a privately owned collection amassed over twenty years. It is comprised of more than 1,200 books, objects, correspondence, periodicals, lobbying materials, postcards, and more.

This exhibit from the Evanston Women's History Project showcases the stories of Evanston women and organizations that contributed to the women's suffrage movement during the 19th and 20th centuries. Visitors can browse the collections to gain an understanding of the tools suffragists used to argue their position and to make significant strides in gaining the public's support of women's suffrage. The exhibits build on the collections, providing contexts for understanding why these Evanston women got involved in the women's suffrage movement and how each of the organizations worked to make women's suffrage a reality.

Founded in 1791, the Massachusetts Historical Society is an invaluable resource for American history, life, and culture. Its extraordinary collections tell the story of America through millions of rare and unique documents, artifacts, and irreplaceable national treasures.

Ohio Women Vote: 100 Years of Change commemorates the 100th anniversary of the 19th Amendment and celebrates the century of women’s activism that followed. The exhibit poses ten questions (seen on the sidebar to your left) to historic and contemporary Ohio women in activism.

Colorado women gained the right to vote by popular referendum in 1893, a full 27 years before the 19th Amendment was ratified in August, 1920. The Colorado Springs Pioneers Museum is proud to provide a full day of multi-generational virtual programs in celebration of the centennial commemoration of Woman’s Suffrage.

Private collection consisting of: images and texts representing objects and printed matter that reflect the lives of women from the mid 1900S through the mid 1900S.

The primary purpose of this site is to provide a repository for information about memorabilia connected to the woman suffrage movement in both England and America.

The Arkansas Women’s Suffrage Centennial Project commemorates the 100th anniversary of the right to vote for women in Arkansas by promoting events, encouraging research and education programs related to women’s suffrage, and helping to preserve the history of women’s suffrage within the state. The Arkansas Women’s Suffrage Centennial will be celebrated between 2017 and 2020.

The following exhibit is a sampling of some of the items in the WCSU Archives that illuminate this pivotal period from the 1890s until the early 1920s.

League of Women Voters: The Legacy of Suffrage is an exhibit that explores the perspective of the League of Women Voters of Baltimore City Records and celebrates the legacy of women since obtaining the vote a century ago. This exhibit highlights the centennial of women's suffrage and celebrates the 100th anniversary of the creation of the League of Women Voters of Baltimore City.

The California State Archives has released its latest digital exhibit, “On the Road to Ratification: California and the Struggle for Women’s Suffrage,” to commemorate the 100th Anniversary of California’s ratification of the 19th Amendment, which granted women the right to vote nationwide. This is the State Archive’s twentieth online exhibit to be hosted by Google Arts & Culture.

This selection of postcards highlights women’s fashion during the early years of the 20th century, and explores how clothing and attire were used by both sides of the conflict to promote their cause.

​​This exhibit shows memorabilia and documents related to the woman suffrage movement in Oregon.

To celebrate the 100th anniversary of the passage of the 19th Amendment granting women the right to vote in the United States, University Libraries staff created a display with items and information from the Center for Southwest Research, Zimmerman Library, and Library of Congress. Rare archival materials including political texts and speeches, song lyrics, postcards and books explore the history of suffrage, the constitutional amendment process and voting rights issues in the United States.

An Online Exhibit by the C.L. Sonnichsen Special Collections Department

This digital collection includes items related to women's suffrage in various formats, including advertisements, greeting cards, photographs, ephemera, maps, and articles, dated from 1848-1919. Most of these items were gathered together digitally for use in the online exhibit, "Recognizing Women's Right to Vote in New York State." The physical representations of these items are spread across many collections. The South Central Regional Library Council does not own any of the original items in this collection.

This exhibit explores different aspects of the Women’s Suffrage movement in New York, including influence from native cultures on the movement, the 1848 conventions in Seneca Falls and Rochester, suffragist tactics such as civil disobedience and the insertion of the suffrage movement into popular culture, the anti-suffrage movement and impact of World War 1, the New York State referendum in 1917 and legacy of the suffrage movement.

This online exhibition explores the impact and legacy of the expansion of suffrage in the United States with objects from the collection of the Delaware Art Museum.