Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Resources for Specific Policy Issues
There are subject-specific databases that may be helpful for policy research. You may need to find additional resources in other subject research guides. Also look for research from interest groups, such as think tanks, non-governmental organizations (NGOs), and inter-governmental organizations (IGOs).
The U.S. Government Accountability Office is an agency that provides oversight, investigation, review, and evaluation of executive programs, operations, and activities.
Business publications on various industries, finance, insurance, transportation, construction, and more. Use "public policy" as a subject heading in the drop menu to help filter your results.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text
Subject areas covered include: criminology; criminal justice; criminal law and procedure; corrections and prisons; police and policing; criminal investigation; forensic sciences and investigation; history of crime; substance abuse and addiction; probation and parole.
This is the best place to find economic policy research.
Designed to meet the needs of education students, professionals and policy makers. Coverage spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
Environmental Law Reporter
Contains analysis of environmental, sustainability, natural resources, energy, toxic tort, and land use law and policy. Includes state and federal cases, statutes, regulations and more.
Covers all aspects of human impact on the environment. Topics include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and more. Created by the National Library of Medicine.
National Consumer Law Center Digital Library
A collection of approximately 20 e-books published by the National Consumer Law Center, on topics related to consumer litigation, debtor rights, credit & banking, and deception & warranties.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS)
Offers both national and international resources in the area of criminal justice and related subjects. Under each broad subject division, provides full-text access to documents in ASCII and/or Adobe Acrobat format, plus access to relevant WWW sites; some subject areas also offer links to gopher sites, ftp sites, listservs, bulletin boards, and other Internet resources.
NBER Working Papers
NBER researchers initially report their findings in scientific papers aimed at other professional economists in academic institutions, business, government, and the business media around the world.
Taxation & Economic Reform in America, Parts I & II, 1781-2010
Tax regulations, laws, and hundreds of legislative histories dating back to the 1700s.
U.S. International Trade Library
United States International Trade Commission publications archive, legislative histories, notable publications, and scholarly articles on the topic of the exchange of goods and services between the United States and other nations.
What Everyone Needs to Know (series)
Written by leading authorities in their given fields, these books offer a balanced and authoritative primer on complex current issues, including international politics, policy issues, country studies, and more. Add your keywords to this search.