Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Depending on your assignment, there are several kinds of information you may need in researching public policy:
- Historical political or legal context of a policy
- Theory of public policy
- Research on the specific topic of your policy
- Example policy proposals and research from organizations
- Statistics, including public opinion
- Governmental legislation or regulation, or for international public policy, an understanding of a country's government
- Social behavior or economic consequences related to a policy
This is the best place to start for national or international public policy research.
Covers contemporary U.S. politics and policy with daily reports, events tracker, instructional materials, politician profiles, and more.
The Legal Collection is a source for information on the discipline of law and legal topics such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical, labor & human resource law, ethics, the environment and much more. In addition to full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for all journals in the collection. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1965.
Limit your searches to "Library Catalog" for books, which can be good for broad understanding and historical context. You may need to eliminate government documents by removing "United States" as an author in the Advanced Search.
Political Science Complete
Add "government policy" or "international relations" as a subject to focus your searches.
This database has national and international law review articles, a good choice for articles on the legal implications of a policy: its strengths and weaknesses as a law, the relationship of the law to court decisions, and the potential effects of the application of a policy.
Back issues of about 30 political science scholarly journals (among many others). Be sure to add a filter for "political science" to your searches.
Congressional Research Service(CRS) Reports
Reports on policy issues and legislative documents to support congressional committees and members of Congress. Hein Online Congressional Documents also includes CRS Reports.
Congressional Budget Office
Find information by topic about budgetary and economic issues that support the Congressional budget process. The filter on the left helps narrow the search.
Congress and the Nation
Find in-depth summaries of congressional trends, actions, political and policy controversies, organized by Congressional term and policy topic. This covers 1945-2016.
Congress in Context
Quick profiles with lists of major legislation, Supreme Court cases, timeline, and historical context for each Congressional session.
CQ Researcher Plus Archive
Substantive, non-biased, well-researched discussions of timely topics and issues, such as: immigration, climate change, marijuana decriminalization, and LBGTQ+ rights.