Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find Library Resources
Library Search allows you to to find and access books articles, books, streaming media and more through a single search box. It connects with about 70% of all of the SMU Libraries collections.
Library Search: Online Resources
This link will limit your results in Library Search to only resources available online.
FAQs - Using the library remotely
Help with using library resources while working away from campus.
These research guides are the best place to start your research in any discipline. Find relevant databases, general tips about the research process, and citation help.
Find Background Information
Publication Date: 2013
Myths are organized by regions of the world and cultures, such as Oceania, South East Asia, and Meso-America.
St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture
Publication Date: 2013
The entries cover topics and persons in major areas of popular culture. Readers will gain perspective on the cultural context in which the topic or person has importance. Use the far right search box to search within this publication.
Encyclopedia of Religion
Publication Date: 2004
This is the standard reference work for this field. Use the search box on the right to search only within this publication.
Find Analysis (Secondary Sources)
MLA International Bibliography
This is a disciplinary database that provides scholarly articles, books, and more on language and literature, including folklore. The sources in this database can also be found through Library Search, but sometimes it is helpful to limit the scope of your search down to a specific discipline. You can also use more powerful search tools like a subject search.
SocINDEX with Full Text
This is a disciplinary database for sociology, which is the study of society, patterns of social relationships, social interaction and culture of everyday life.
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals, books, and primary sources in a wide variety of disciplines.
Film & Television Literature Index
This is a disciplinary database that covers television and film writing.
Contains how people have responded, psychologically, to various cultural icons, events, and phenomena.
Some eBooks about Superheroes
Superheroes and Gods
Provides a unique study of superheroes and gods in literature, popular culture, and ancient myth.
Do the Gods Wear Capes?
Chapter-length analyses of the early comic book adventures of Superman, Wonder Woman, Spider-Man, and Iron-Man,including: the problem of evil; the will-to-power; the tension between intimacy and vulnerability; and the challenge of love, in the face of mortality.
We are here for you
You have a team of librarians dedicated specifically to support WRTR. From developing a solid thesis, to finding the right information, to evaluating and putting it all together, we can help.
Help with Searching and Citations
Library Search Help
Information on the best way to use Library Search to find articles, books, films, and journals.
Help with searching in databases or on the internet, including Google Scholar.
RefWorks is an easy tool that helps you gather citations directory from library databases and then creates in-text citations and works cited directly in your paper. The Google Docs add on is the easiest to use. This guide links you to RefWorks and teaches you how to use it.