Research Guides: ENGL 2318: Literature and Digital Humanities: A Guide to Research

Primary Sources

Newspapers: Historical Newspaper Databases
Dallas Morning News
Daily Campus
African American Historical Serials Collection

Reference Books

American Decades
Call Number: Centennial Reading Room, Reference, Non-circulating, E 169.12 .A419 1994
Contextual info for the decades
Chronology
American National Biography
Bios of dead people.

Handbook of Texas Online This link opens in a new window
The Handbook of Texas Online is a multidisciplinary encyclopedia of Texas history, geography, and culture.

Databases

America : History & Life (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, including biographical info.
You can limit searches by time period.
Ancestry Library Edition This link opens in a new window
Ancestry Library Edition is a new genealogy research tool created for the library market and provides patrons instant access to a wide range of unique resources for genealogical and historical research.
Bloomsbury Fashion Central This link opens in a new window
Provides integrated text and image content on world dress and fashion throughout history
Biography and Genealogy Master Index This link opens in a new window
Biographical reference sources
Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Designed specifically for the performing arts covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry
Play Index This link opens in a new window
Index to plays of all types written from Antiquity-
Reference Universe This link opens in a new window
Find reference works on your topic.

Miscellaneous

Dallas: the Making of a Modern City
Explores the building of Dallas in the years 1880 to 1940.
Ebook

Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
The ultimate English dictionary, includes historical usage & etymologies
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism This link opens in a new window
Fulltext articles on critical & theoretical schools & movements, with historical context

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Modern Language Association's index to literature
Cambridge Companions Complete Collection This link opens in a new window
Cambridge Companions on Literature, Classics, Philosophy, Religion, Culture, & Music
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Fulltext of the entire back issues of scholarly journals
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Fulltext scholarly journals covering various topics

English Librarian

Contact:

regraff@smu.edu

Subjects: English, Liberal Studies, Medieval Studies, Philosophy, World Languages & Literatures, Writing & Reasoning