Research Guides: Cultural Policy and Cultural Economics: Cultural Economics

Cultural Economics Sources

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
This is a general purpose business database, but it does include the Journal of Cultural Economics as well as other publications focused on the arts and nonprofits.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
This is another general purpose business database, but it includes the International Journal of Arts Management, Cultural Trends, Economic Development and Cultural Change, and some other potentially relevant publications.
View the Company Research and Industry Research tutorials for more insights.

Americans for the Arts - Arts & Economic Prosperity study
This study documents the key role played by the nonprofit arts and culture industry, and their audiences, in strengthening our nation’s economy.
Comparative Nonprofit Sector Project
Reports on the scope, structure, financing, and role of the private nonprofit sector in countries around the world.
NASAA Research
The National Assembly of State Arts Agencies collects research on topics including creative economy.
National Center for Charitable Statistics
Information on nonprofit organizations, giving data, National Taxonomy of Exempt Entities (NTEE) classifications.
Texas Cultural Trust
Our goal is to provide leadership to promote and highlight the importance of the arts in educating our children and sustaining our vibrant Texas economy. Supporting the arts ensures Texas’ cultural and economic advantage for the future.
Urban Institute - Arts and culture
Research reports on the impact of arts and culture on cities.

Industry Profiles

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Look for industry reports on museums, arts and recreation, and more.
View the Industry Research tutorial for more insights.
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
To access First Research industry reports, click on First Research below the main search box and then, the orange Submit button on the left side of the page.
To access First Research industry reports, click on First Research below the main search box and then, the orange Submit button on the left side of the page.
View the Company Searching tutorial for more insights.

General Economics Sources

EconLit This link opens in a new window
American Economic Association publications
Passport This link opens in a new window
This international business database offers access to statistics, reports, insightful comment and business information sources.
Restricted to only current SMU students, faculty & staff.
View the Market Research tutorial for more insights.

Knoema
Explore and build over datasets by country, data source, or theme on a wide range of topic over time. This tool is easy to use, allowing you to access statistics from many different sources at once. Make a free account for access to statistical tables.
Global Economy
Research most countries or the world map for economic indicators to obtain rankings, statistical data/charts and text information. Select time ranges up to 30+ years for historical data. Note: use the 'guide' tab to learn more about using this site. Free account registration; login to download data or charts.

NBER Working Papers This link opens in a new window
Working papers and scholarly publications on original economic research and theory. Coverage of the arts is minimal, but there may be other topics relevant to your research.

Getting Started

If you are unsure of your topic, handbooks can be a great place to start. A handbook outlines areas of current scholarship for a particular topic with references to relevant articles. Use the bibliographies to find more sources.

A Handbook of Cultural Economics
Publication Date: 2011
The book covers a range of topics encompassing the creative industries as well as the economics of the arts and culture, and includes chapters on: the economics of art, artists' labour markets, the creative economy, cultural districts, cultural value, globalization and international trade, regulation, tax expenditures and welfare economics.
Handbook of the Economics of Art and Culture by Victor A. Ginsburgh (Editor); David Throsby (Editor)
Sections on history, value, legal issues, culture and the economy, consumption and production, cultural industries, labor markets, auctions and prices, location, and policy.
Handbook of the Economics of Art and Culture, vol. 2
Publication Date: 2013
Routledge handbook of global cultural policy
Publication Date: 2018
A handbook outlines the state of the research on a given topic. This volume also includes a cross-section of country-by-country case studies.